Moving to System Engineering

It’s official, I’m moving over to lead the System Engineering Branch.

The last three years, as I’ve done less development work and more management, I’ve also been drifting in the direction of focusing on interfaces and architectures. I’ve also been working with Melissa on metrics, and I have a very good working relationship with her. Leading SEB will let me keep doing both of those things, and spend some time looking at the “big picture” as we get into more details on the JWST systems, and the interfaces between systems.

A lot of the cross-system integration will be Mark Abernathy’s baliwick, as the system integration manager and “middle part” Chief Engineer. Most of the work I was doing while in SAS was work for Mark, so I’ll still be doing some of that work, and helping Melissa manage some of it.

So this should be interesting. šŸ™‚

Explore posts in the same categories: SEB, Software, STScI

Leave a Reply

